Prison

The guard stands by my cell, staring at the moon through the prison windows. I clutch the bars and ask if I can be free. She doesn’t look my way and tells me that I’m in prison, you can’t just leave. I say I volunteered myself to this and she doesn’t reply for some time. Clouds cover the moon and the room goes dark. I move away from the bars and lie on the concrete bed. The world was too large, and now it’s too small. A bell rings from afar, the guard leaves saying:

‘You did this to yourself’

Leave a Reply

